Tue 19 th Mar: Perfect weather pervaded the course on Tuesday moaning and 45 players heeded the
call and were drawn into nine 4-balls and three 3-balls to play the usual 2-to-count Stableford
The rains of last week have lengthened the course considerably and scores have consequently
suffered. The best round was the 88 points carded by Gerald Churchley, Johny Johnston, John
Abbot and visitor Algi Bower. Second placed Mark Warren, Dave and Don Rose carded 81 + 5 = 86
Those who battled the most in the tighter conditions were Roger Kidson, Quentin Hogge, Nick
Oosthuizen and Ian Gatenby only managed to score 75 points and consequently ending up with the
notorious Hamer an Sukkel trophy.
Martin Lambrechts and Ian Gatenby holed the only 2-clubs of the day (8 th ), whilst the best nett
scores were shot by Neil Loundar and Johny Johnson (68)
Fri 22 nd Mar: One couldn’t have imagined a more perfect morning for golf that presented itself to
Friday’ KGB competition and the excellent turnouts of late continued as 50 players presented
themselves for the early morning draw.
Roger Kidson, Donald McGarvie, Mike McNamara and Maureen McGarvie carded 92 points to win
the competition quite comfortably. Brian Hayward, Dave Curran, Danny and Gaby Tarpani took the
runners-up slot with a distant 88 points.
It is cruel that there has to be awardees of the infamous Hamer en Sukkel trophy on such a perfect
morning, but the 73 points carded by Sandra Fryer, Dale Wisener, Andy Manson and Paul Fryer
were insufficient to escape the trophy at the 19 th hole.
Barrie Brady had the crowd cheering at the end of play festivities as it was announced he shot a
superb nett 63 and made a 2-club on the 11 th . Other good nett scores were shot by Maureen
McGarvie (67) and Danny Tarpani (68).